Geistertanz in Berlin

Geistertanz in Berlin

24.00 €

incl. VAT, plus delivery
Delivery time: 2-4 day(s)

Description

Geistertanz in Berlin

Time and space recalibrated at the breaking point of history.


Translated by Werner Rauch.

With 172 colored illustrations.


"Geistertanz in Berlin" is an unlikely declaration of love for the city by an American-born son of German-speaking Jewish refugees. Temporarily set in a villa on Berlin's largest lake, Wortsman imagines the parallel haunting of two groups of ghosts: The group consisting of the exiled former owners of the estate, a Jewish banker and his family, and those who took over the estate - the Fuhrer's finance minister and his entourage, while on the opposite side of the lake, in another villa, another collection of ghosts is busy planning the Final Solution.

Where a wall once separated East and West, the city is still crisscrossed by invisible border lines, along which the author walks with an eye for revealing details and an ear for memorable conversations with street musicians, drinking companions, lawyers, bankers, politicians, a cab driver, a prostitute, and a celebrity chef, with guest appearances by Henry Kissinger and the shadow of Marlene Dietrich.

The English edition of Ghost Dance in Berlin won an Independent Publishers Book Award (IPPY) in 2014.


Voices on Ghost Dance in Berlin:

"A unique and most beautiful evocation of a tantalizing city."
-Jan Morris


"A fascinating portrait of one of the world's most complex and misunderstood cities. With the keen eye of an American-born son of Jewish refugees, Wortsman captures Berlin in snapshots that are illuminating, moving, and funny in a dark way."
- Tony Perrottet, author of The Sinner's Grand Tour


"Wortsman tears down the walls between East and West Germany, between memoir and reportage, between reflection and investigation."
- Tom Miller, author of Trading with the Enemy


Further Information

Author Peter Wortsman

Reading Sample

PalmArtPress Website

Additional product information

Pages:
164
Cover:
Hardcover
Measures:
21 x 12,5 cm
Language:
German, translated from English by Werner Rauch
Published:
October 2021
ISBN:
978-3-96258-094-0

Geistertanz in Berlin

Geistertanz in Berlin

24,00 €

inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Produktdatenblatt
Lieferzeit: 2-4 Tag(e)

Beschreibung

Geistertanz in Berlin

Zeit und Raum an der Bruchlinie der Geschichte neu kalibriert


- Deutsch aus dem Englischen von Werner Rauch.

Mit 172 farbigen Abbildungen.


Geistertanz in Berlin ist die unwahrscheinliche Liebeserklärung an die Stadt von einem in Amerika geborenen Sohn deutschsprachiger jüdischer Flüchtlinge. Zeitweilig in einer Villa an Berlins größtem See angesiedelt, stellt sich Wortsman den parallel stattfindenden Spuk zweier Gruppen von Geistern vor: Jene der ins Exil verbannten ehemaligen Besitzer des Anwesens, ein jüdischer Bankier und seine Familie, und jene, die das Anwesen übernahmen – der Finanzminister des Führers und seine Entourage, während auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite des Sees, in einer anderen Villa, eine weitere Ansammlung von Geistern damit beschäftigt ist, die Endlösung zu planen.

Wo einst eine Mauer Ost und West trennte, ist die Stadt heute noch immer von unsichtbaren Grenzlinien durchzogen, auf denen der Autor mit einem Auge für aufschlussreiche Details und einem Ohr für denkwürdige Gespräche mit Straßenmusikanten, Trinkkumpanen, Anwälten, Bankern, Politikern, einem Taxifahrer, einer Prostituierten und einem Sternekoch wandelt, mit Gastauftritten von Henry Kissinger und dem Schatten von Marlene Dietrich.

Die englische Ausgabe von Ghost Dance in Berlin wurde 2014 mit einem Independent Publishers Book Award (IPPY) ausgezeichnet.


Stimmen zu "Geistertanz in Berlin":

“A unique and most beautiful evocation of a tantalizing city.”
—Jan Morris


„Ein faszinierendes Portrait einer der komplexesten und am meisten missverstandenen Städte der Welt. Mit dem scharfen Blick eines in Amerika geborenen Sohnes jüdischer Flüchtlinge fängt Wortsman Berlin in Momentaufnahmen ein, die erhellend, bewegend und auf eine düstere Art und Weise lustig sind.“
– Tony Perrottet, Autor von The Sinner’s Grand Tour


„Wortsman reißt die Mauern zwischen Ost- und Westdeutschland, zwischen Memoire und Reportage, zwischen Reflexion und Untersuchung ein.“
– Tom Miller, Autor von Trading with the Enemy


Weitere Informationen

Autor Peter Wortsman

Leseprobe

PalmArtPress Webseite

Zusätzliche Produktinformationen

Seiten:
164
Einband:
Hardcover
Maße:
21 x 12,5 cm
Sprache:
Deutsch, aus dem Englischen von Werner Rauch
Erschienen:
Oktober 2021
ISBN:
978-3-96258-094-0